Archive for The Unofficial Mamod and Other Steam Forum The Original Unofficial Toy Steam Forum
Established 2006
The biggest, most popular steam forum around! Accept NO imitations!
We have a growing community of regular posting members who chat about all aspects of toy and model steam.
 


       The Unofficial Mamod and Other Steam Forum Forum Index -> General discussion
mc_mc

Spyware Alert

Hi, I've been looking at my Toy Steam Bible website logs and noticed that one visitor yesterday is probably infected with some Adware / Spyware:

The client ip address is: 88-104-253-39.dynamic.dsl.as9105.com which is most likely someone using Tiscali as their ISP.

The log entry is this: 88.104.253.39 - - [05/Apr/2007:21:01:29 +0100] "GET /TSB/index.htm HTTP/1.1" 304 - "http://modelsteam.myfreeforum.org/about3112.html" "Mozilla/4.0 (compatible; MSIE 7.0; Windows NT 5.1; FunWebProducts; .NET CLR 1.1.4322)"

It's the FunWebProducts bit that worried me. A google search reveals it's an adware browser hijack. http://www.networkworld.com/newsletters/web/2003/1208web2.html?page=1

It's probably a good idea for people who are running Windows and IE 7 to install and run Spybot Search and Destroy (or other such tool) to scan your computer: http://www.safer-networking.org/en/home/index.html
Especially if you are a Tiscali user and visited my site yesterday at 21:09.
Manxman

I'm sure that's all very interesting, mc_mc. What language was that? Didn't understand a word. I hope it's not me.
Mamodman123

Don't think its me...
SPOKESMAN

Though Im on a PC at the moment its on Virginmedia (Telewest). My Mac wouldnt infect it . . .
mc_mc

SPOKESMAN wrote:
Though Im on a PC at the moment its on Virginmedia (Telewest). My Mac wouldnt infect it . . .


Oh it's no problem to the website, it's just my precious visitors that I'm worried about. If any one's seeing unexpected Ads popping up that's probably a bad sign!

If you're using a Mac you'll be pretty safe!
mc_mc

Manxman wrote:
I'm sure that's all very interesting, mc_mc. What language was that? Didn't understand a word. I hope it's not me.


Don't worry it's not you. Your IP address is very distinctive, I've only had one visitor from the Isle of Man.
Wallace

Thanks for the warning mc. Suprising what information you have there
SPOKESMAN

mc_mc wrote:
SPOKESMAN wrote:
Though Im on a PC at the moment its on Virginmedia (Telewest). My Mac wouldnt infect it . . .


Oh it's no problem to the website, it's just my precious visitors that I'm worried about. If any one's seeing unexpected Ads popping up that's probably a bad sign!

If you're using a Mac you'll be pretty safe!


Yes, the dreaded pop ups. On th PC I have installed a good firewall, spyware and pop up deletion is all part of it, it does report from time to time it has deleted i or two spyware items etc.
mc_mc

MammodMan and I think we've pin-pointed the person involved and have contacted them.

Yes it surprising what information you are sending to a website when you visit it. It's useful for the website adminstrator to have, but you should be aware it's happening. The web isn't as anonymous as it first seems.
Griffin

The culprit of this problem was me.

I however do run an up to date security package, but unbeknown to me as I am a complete novice in all things computer wise, this package did not cover Spyware.

This problem has now been rectified, and I owe MM thanks for his invaluable help in the matter.

Sorry for any inconvenience I have caused.

Steven
tmuir

No problems.
Atleast you got it fixed before it became an issue for you.
Mamodman123

That's no problem Griffin! anytime you need some help i'm here
James

No probs Griff, you're a legend!
mc_mc

Griffin wrote:
The culprit of this problem was me.

I however do run an up to date security package, but unbeknown to me as I am a complete novice in all things computer wise, this package did not cover Spyware.

This problem has now been rectified, and I owe MM thanks for his invaluable help in the matter.

Sorry for any inconvenience I have caused.

Steven


Glad to hear you've got it sorted. It didn't cause any problems for me, I just thought you should be notified that you'd "caught something nasty"

It's a shame but most anti-virus / security software doesn't block the Adware / Spyware software. One anti-virus company got sued by one of the ad companies when they blocked that company's software and that scared the others off from detecting it and deleting it automatically because they didn't want to get sued as well.
       The Unofficial Mamod and Other Steam Forum Forum Index -> General discussion
Page 1 of 1